This is written by my good bro and fellow People’s DJ, Chapulin!

I don’t know what to really call this music: global bass, nucumbia, electro cumbia. I like electropical because the name describes what the music is – tropical beats with electronic elements.

I have been trying to find music like this since about 2000.  This list is a bit of my journey. I hope you like it.  And please comment with friendly additions!

Señor Coconut

This was the first example of this type of music I found. It was 2000 or 2001.  I was in Lubbock, TX, and I wanted more of this!

Trans Europe Express (Cumbia) – Señor Coconut

For me, the whole album by Senor Coconut, aka Atom Heart, is a classic, though Pitchfork only gave it a 6.0 when it was released.  Señor Coconut Y Su ConjuntoEl Baile Aleman

Nortec Collective

I found this music while in Mexico, listening to the radio. For…

View original post 338 more words

Leave a Reply

